• Play group at new time, 9:30 AM Fridays

    The library is pleased to be partners with Rutland County Parent Child Center. Together we will host play groups Friday mornings in the Fox Room from 9:30-11 AM. Always free and open to all.

  • MSJ Yearbooks now online

    From our friends at Rutland Historical Society: MSJ yearbooks (1939-1993 except 1943 which was not published) is online at the Historical Society website.

  • New source for e-books

    OneClick!digital has now added a selection of classic books to its offerings. There are no checkout limits, holds or waits … perfect for class reading lists.

  • OneClick has your audiobook

    Check out an audiobook from OneClick Digital with your library card … no limits or wait times. iPhone app now available, and find a wide assortment of audio classes as well.

  • Try TumbleBooks ebooks for Kids!

    Click on the Kids Space tab to access TumbleBooks! Find animated, talking picture books with fiction, non-fiction and foreign language titles, and Read-Alongs (chapter books with sentence highlighting and narration.)

  • Reader’s Corner

    Reader’s Corner (which you can find in the left-hand menu, and the top menu) features all the resources you need about books in our library. There are links to InterLibrary Loan and a request form for new books and dvds. Check it out today!

  • Twilight Read Alikes

    Don’t be embarrassed if you loved Twilight, you are in good company. Adult or teen if you liked the fast paced, addictive nature of the Twlight series by Stephanie Meyers you will love these books. Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater Grace is obsessed with the wolves that roam the woods behind her house. She is drawn […]

  • Events List

    List of Upcoming Events will go here

Stuart Woods Author Read Alikes

Stuart Woods writes the Stone Barrington mysteries and other suspense novels that are full of fast-paced action. Here are some other mystery and suspense authors you might like.

Jeffrey Archer:  Like Woods, Jeffrey Archer has written a diverse range of Thrillers from the serious to the commercial, relating fascinating tales and peopled with likable characters who come to a satisfying end. International intrigue and double-dealing fill his page-turning novels, but he also includes a glimpse of the rich and powerful, as does Woods.

Stephen J. Cannell: Screenwriter Stephen J. Cannell’s novels possess a similar cinematic appeal as those of Woods — fast pacing, characters who could be on the screen, action scenes, and revenge. While the plots may be more complex than those of Woods, the characters — particularly series character LA police detective Shane Scully — will certainly appeal.

Harlan Coben: Suspense fans who enjoy Stuart Woods’ breakneck pacing and twisting plots may want to give Harlan Coben’s suspense novels a try. Readers who enjoy the speedy pacing and wise-acre characters of Woods’ two mystery series will find the same elements in Coben’s tightly plotted, page-turning Myron Bolitar mysteries

Nelson DeMille:  If you like fast-paced and suspenseful Suspense stories books for adults featuring Former police; men/women relations; and murder, you might like both Woods and DeMille.

Robert B. Parker: Best known for Spenser, his Boston-based Private Investigator, Robert B. Parker has created three Mystery series and several stand-alone titles all which have a similar theme: how to live correctly, by a personal code of honor, in a violent world.

Lawrence Sanders: Like Woods, Lawrence Sanders wrote a range of titles, from the serious to the more commercial. Woods’ and Sanders’ works are both characterized by intricate plots, filled with twists and betrayals, series and non-series characters, and provocative story lines