• Tech help, Tues. & Thurs. 2-4 PM

    Scott, our volunteer tech tutor, is back to help with all your troublesome tablets, lame laptops & disappointing downloads. Just drop by the help desk or call ahead (for the complicated questions).

  • Play group in the Fox Room, 9:30 AM Fridays

    Join us and Rutland County Parent-Child Center from 9:30-11 AM Fridays in the Fox Room for play, activities and meeting new friends.

  • Tech Tuesday / Thursday, 2-4 PM

    Scott will be away the week of Nov. 10-16. Please rejoin the conversation about tech with him on Tuesday, Nov. 18 at 2 PM.

  • Play group at new time, 9:30 AM Fridays

    The library is pleased to be partners with Rutland County Parent Child Center. Together we will host play groups Friday mornings in the Fox Room from 9:30-11 AM. Always free and open to all.

  • MSJ Yearbooks now online

    From our friends at Rutland Historical Society: MSJ yearbooks (1939-1993 except 1943 which was not published) is online at the Historical Society website.

  • New source for e-books

    OneClick!digital has now added a selection of classic books to its offerings. There are no checkout limits, holds or waits … perfect for class reading lists.

  • OneClick has your audiobook

    Check out an audiobook from OneClick Digital with your library card … no limits or wait times. iPhone app now available, and find a wide assortment of audio classes as well.

  • Try TumbleBooks ebooks for Kids!

    Click on the Kids Space tab to access TumbleBooks! Find animated, talking picture books with fiction, non-fiction and foreign language titles, and Read-Alongs (chapter books with sentence highlighting and narration.)

Stuart Woods Author Read Alikes

Stuart Woods writes the Stone Barrington mysteries and other suspense novels that are full of fast-paced action. Here are some other mystery and suspense authors you might like.

Jeffrey Archer:  Like Woods, Jeffrey Archer has written a diverse range of Thrillers from the serious to the commercial, relating fascinating tales and peopled with likable characters who come to a satisfying end. International intrigue and double-dealing fill his page-turning novels, but he also includes a glimpse of the rich and powerful, as does Woods.

Stephen J. Cannell: Screenwriter Stephen J. Cannell’s novels possess a similar cinematic appeal as those of Woods — fast pacing, characters who could be on the screen, action scenes, and revenge. While the plots may be more complex than those of Woods, the characters — particularly series character LA police detective Shane Scully — will certainly appeal.

Harlan Coben: Suspense fans who enjoy Stuart Woods’ breakneck pacing and twisting plots may want to give Harlan Coben’s suspense novels a try. Readers who enjoy the speedy pacing and wise-acre characters of Woods’ two mystery series will find the same elements in Coben’s tightly plotted, page-turning Myron Bolitar mysteries

Nelson DeMille:  If you like fast-paced and suspenseful Suspense stories books for adults featuring Former police; men/women relations; and murder, you might like both Woods and DeMille.

Robert B. Parker: Best known for Spenser, his Boston-based Private Investigator, Robert B. Parker has created three Mystery series and several stand-alone titles all which have a similar theme: how to live correctly, by a personal code of honor, in a violent world.

Lawrence Sanders: Like Woods, Lawrence Sanders wrote a range of titles, from the serious to the more commercial. Woods’ and Sanders’ works are both characterized by intricate plots, filled with twists and betrayals, series and non-series characters, and provocative story lines