• Playgroup Friday, 9:30 AM

    Join us & Rutland County Parent Child Center for active, educational play, Friday mornings at 9:30. In the Fox Room, free and open for all.

  • Tales to Tails, Weds., Oct. 22nd, 4 PM

    Kids can meet and read to trained therapy dogs … who are just the best listeners for beginning readers.

  • Tech Tuesday / Thursday, 2-4 PM

    Drop by to get help with your tablet, laptop or other device. Scott is here twice a week to offer hands-on help with your technology questions.

  • Play group at new time, 9:30 AM Fridays

    The library is pleased to be partners with Rutland County Parent Child Center. Together we will host play groups Friday mornings in the Fox Room from 9:30-11 AM. Always free and open to all.

  • Take a pass

    Again this year, the library is happy to offer passes for a variety of attractions as well as the state parks. State park passes are day passes that allow entrance for up to eight people in one vehicle. Other passes we have available include Billings Farm & Museum, ECHO, Hildene, Vermont Historic Sites, Shelburne Farms, […]

  • MSJ Yearbooks now online

    From our friends at Rutland Historical Society: MSJ yearbooks (1939-1993 except 1943 which was not published) is online at the Historical Society website.

  • New source for e-books

    OneClick!digital has now added a selection of classic books to its offerings. There are no checkout limits, holds or waits … perfect for class reading lists.

  • OneClick has your audiobook

    Check out an audiobook from OneClick Digital with your library card … no limits or wait times. iPhone app now available, and find a wide assortment of audio classes as well.

John Grisham Read Alikes

If you are looking for other books that will remind you of John Grisham, check out these authors!

David Baldacci
Baldacci writes high energy Suspense Stories featuring corruption and conspiracies. Complex plots place characters in tense situations, which it is important to note, can sometimes lead to more graphic violence than found in Grisham’s writing.

Brad Meltzer
In their novels, both John Grisham and Brad Meltzer portray young, vulnerable lawyers caught in difficult situations, pitted against powerful but corrupt enemies. Fast pacing, provocative storylines, suspense and danger, along with sympathetic characters make Meltzer a good choice for Grisham fans.

John T. Lescroart
Lescroart and John Grisham both write fast-paced, suspenseful legal thrillers that have wide appeal. Their characters are engaging and committed to justice.

Justin Peacock
Both John Grisham and Justin Peacock portray young, vulnerable (even damaged) lawyers caught in difficult situations, pitted against powerful, corrupt enemies. Fast pacing, provocative storylines, and suspense make Peacock a good choice for Grisham fans.

Lisa Scottoline
Lisa Scottoline’s novels share the legal focus, sympathetic characters, fast pacing, and unexpected plot twists found in John Grisham’s work. There’s more humor and sarcasm in Scottoline’s stories, but they offer a similarly suspenseful tone.

Steve Martini
Steve Martini’s cinematic and page-turning Legal Thrillers may appeal to fans of John Grisham. Sympathetic protagonists people the stories – his novels often feature lawyers as underdogs, fighting for justice. Investigation plays an important role, with actual courtroom drama often taking second place.

Scott Turow
Although Scott Turow’s stories are more realistic, and do not move at the same rapid pace as John Grisham’s, readers who enjoy issue-oriented Legal Thrillers may appreciate each author’s different strengths.

Stuart Woods
Known for his provocative stories and relentless pacing, Stuart Woods has much to offer John Grisham fans. While there are suspense, action, and plot twists in his novels, there’s also more sex and violence than one finds in Grisham. Readers who can tolerate this might find Woods a good choice.

Nancy Grace
If you like Grisham, you may also like Grace. Both write fast-paced and suspenseful Legal thrillers and Suspense stories books for adults about Trials (Murder).