• Tech Tuesday / Thursday, 2-4 PM

    Drop by to get help with your tablet, laptop or other device. Scott is here twice a week to offer hands-on help with your technology questions.

  • Play group at new time, 9:30 AM Fridays

    The library is pleased to be partners with Rutland County Parent Child Center. Together we will host play groups Friday mornings in the Fox Room from 9:30-11 AM. Always free and open to all.

  • Take a pass

    Again this year, the library is happy to offer passes for a variety of attractions as well as the state parks. State park passes are day passes that allow entrance for up to eight people in one vehicle. Other passes we have available include Billings Farm & Museum, ECHO, Hildene, Vermont Historic Sites, Shelburne Farms, […]

  • MSJ Yearbooks now online

    From our friends at Rutland Historical Society: MSJ yearbooks (1939-1993 except 1943 which was not published) is online at the Historical Society website.

  • New source for e-books

    OneClick!digital has now added a selection of classic books to its offerings. There are no checkout limits, holds or waits … perfect for class reading lists.

  • OneClick has your audiobook

    Check out an audiobook from OneClick Digital with your library card … no limits or wait times. iPhone app now available, and find a wide assortment of audio classes as well.

  • Try TumbleBooks ebooks for Kids!

    Click on the Kids Space tab to access TumbleBooks! Find animated, talking picture books with fiction, non-fiction and foreign language titles, and Read-Alongs (chapter books with sentence highlighting and narration.)

  • Reader’s Corner

    Reader’s Corner (which you can find in the left-hand menu, and the top menu) features all the resources you need about books in our library. There are links to InterLibrary Loan and a request form for new books and dvds. Check it out today!

James Patterson Author Read Alikes

Here is a list of other authors to check out if you are waiting for the next James Patterson thriller!

Jeffery Deaver
This author writes gripping suspense novels. He, like Patterson, includes clever twisting plot lines, memorable characters, threatening atmospheres, psychological and nightmarish tones. RFL owns most of his books! His latest is called Carte Blanche.

Jonathan Kellerman
Kellerman and Patterson both write gritty suspenseful crime series. They both examine the psychological element in crime and criminal investigations. Vivid characters, fast paced page turners, and full story lines help set the stage for gripping and twisted, sometimes, violent crime novels.

Nicholas Sparks
If you like some of Patterson’s warmhearted stories rather than his crime novels, Sparks is a good fit. They both are great at writing heartwarming love stories.

Ridley Pearson
Patterson and Pearson both feature serial murders, series detective protagonists, bleak outlooks, graphic violence, and psychological implications, though Pearson’s novels are more detailed, complex and offer more insight to what is going on inside the character than Patterson.

Michael Connelly
Connelly’s cunningly-plotted mysteries blend realistic police procedurals with the forlorn heroism of classic hardboiled fiction. Full of shocking twists, climactic build-up, and often violent confrontations, ultimately allows characters to carve meaning out of darkness–if they live.

John Sanderford
Like Patterson, John Sandford writes hard-edged, suspenseful novels of detection. Sandford offers similarly fast-paced, bleak stories, pervaded by a menacing atmosphere. Psychological details are often the key to the case, and the story unfolds with strong language and graphically portrayed violence.

Greg Iles
Greg Iles writes more elegantly than Patterson, but tells equally complex stories of gritty suspense. Plot twists, contemporary settings (although he has also written suspenseful thrillers set in World War II), alternating points of view, and graphic violence feature prominently.

Linda Castillo
Readers who enjoy Patterson’s fast-paced and suspenseful Suspense stories and Mystery stories books for adults about murder investigation; revenge; and serial murderers may also enjoy Castillo.