• Friends Book Sale, Monday, Aug. 4, 4-8 PM

    Books, puzzles, DVDs, VHS, software, sheet music, comics … all at great prices. Downstairs at the Library, 10 Court St. Summer sales are Mondays through Aug. 11.

  • Summer Library Playgroup Fridays @ 10 am

    Come and play with kids birth through preschool in the air conditioned Fox Room. There’s plenty of room for loads of fun with friends. Fridays through August. 10-11 am. Free and open to all.

  • Take a pass

    Again this year, the library is happy to offer passes for a variety of attractions as well as the state parks. State park passes are day passes that allow entrance for up to eight people in one vehicle. Other passes we have available include Billings Farm & Museum, ECHO, Hildene, Vermont Historic Sites, Shelburne Farms, […]

  • MSJ Yearbooks now online

    From our friends at Rutland Historical Society: MSJ yearbooks (1939-1993 except 1943 which was not published) is online at the Historical Society website.

  • New source for e-books

    OneClick!digital has now added a selection of classic books to its offerings. There are no checkout limits, holds or waits … perfect for class reading lists.

  • OneClick has your audiobook

    Check out an audiobook from OneClick Digital with your library card … no limits or wait times. iPhone app now available, and find a wide assortment of audio classes as well.

  • Try TumbleBooks ebooks for Kids!

    Click on the Kids Space tab to access TumbleBooks! Find animated, talking picture books with fiction, non-fiction and foreign language titles, and Read-Alongs (chapter books with sentence highlighting and narration.)

  • Reader’s Corner

    Reader’s Corner (which you can find in the left-hand menu, and the top menu) features all the resources you need about books in our library. There are links to InterLibrary Loan and a request form for new books and dvds. Check it out today!

Girl with the Dragon Tattoo Read Alikes

ip

The Ice Princess by Camilla Läckberg
The dark secrets of a small Swedish community are revealed as a woman returns to her hometown after the death of her parents and the suicide of a childhood friend.

rw

Red Wolf by Liza Marklund
A spate of killings that began with the murder of a Swedish journalist prompts crime reporter Annika Bengtzon to look into the deaths, in an investigation that forces her to question her own husband’s honesty.

rb

The Redbreast by Jo Nesbo
1942: Daniel, a soldier legendary among the Norwegians fighting at the Eastern front, is killed. Eighteen months later in a Vienna hospital, a wounded soldier becomes involved with a young nurse. The consequences will ripple forward to the end of the century. 1999: Having caused an embarrassment in the line of duty, Harry Hole is lumbered with monitoring neo-Nazi activity; a fairly mundane assignment, until reports of a rare weapon being fired attract his interest. Meanwhile, an ex-soldier has been found with his throat cut. Pursuing both his assignment and his hunches, Harry embarks on an investigation in which he has much to gain and everything to lose.

lt

Lucifer’s Tears by James Thompson
Inspector Kari Vaara is pushed into investigating a 90-year-old national hero for war crimes committed during World War II. Finland’s Interior Minister demands a conclusion of innocence, but Germany wants extradition. Vaara is also drawn into a current murder-by-torture case that has the past and present colliding in ways no one could have anticipated.

dlb

Don’t Look Back by Karin Fossum
The tranquility of a small, idyllic town is shattered when the body of a teenage girl is found, prompting an investigation by Inspector Sejer that reveals the sinister truth behind the town’s quiet facade.

ss

Sun and shadow : an Erik Winter novel by Åke Edwardson
Enjoying a satisfying family life and career as Sweden’s youngest chief inspector, Erik Winter faces a daunting case involving a double murder and a suspect with possible links to the gothic world and the local police force.

lf

The last fix by Kjell Ola Dahl
After recovering drug addict Katrine Bratterud is found dead on the shore of a serene lake, detectives Fralich and Gunnarstranda delve into the case, which holds a web of secrets and lies that stretches back generations.

sss

Smilla’s Sense of Snow by Peter Høeg
When her six-year-old neighbor falls to his death, and no one is willing to suspect foul play, fiercely strong Smilla Qaavigaaq Jasperson finds her own investigation taking her into the files of a Danish company.

Also by Stieg Larsson:

The Girl Who Played with Fire
Millennium, the magazine Blomkvist publishes, is about to do a story exposing the Swedish sex-trafficking trade when the authors of the story are both murdered, and Salander’s fingerprints are found on the gun. Larsson jumps between Blomkvist’s attempts to investigate the murder (and, he hopes, prove Salander’s innocence) and Salander’s own efforts to tie the killings to her past.

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest
Blomkvist again sets out to prove Salander innocent of murder. To do so he must expose a decades-old conspiracy within the Swedish secret service that has resulted in, among other travesties, a lifetime of abuse for Salander, whose very life threatens to expose the deadly charade. Larsson amps up the suspense and adds great courtroom drama to the trilogy’s stunning conclusion.

About Stieg Larsson – A leading expert on right-wing extremist organizations, Stieg Larsson was the editor-in-chief of an anti-racist magazine called Expo. He died in 2004. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was made into a film in Sweden in 2009, and an American version is set to be released in 2012.