• Tech Tuesday / Thursday, 2-4 PM

    Drop by to get help with your tablet, laptop or other device. Scott is here twice a week to offer hands-on help with your technology questions.

  • Play group at new time, 9:30 AM Fridays

    The library is pleased to be partners with Rutland County Parent Child Center. Together we will host play groups Friday mornings in the Fox Room from 9:30-11 AM. Always free and open to all.

  • Take a pass

    Again this year, the library is happy to offer passes for a variety of attractions as well as the state parks. State park passes are day passes that allow entrance for up to eight people in one vehicle. Other passes we have available include Billings Farm & Museum, ECHO, Hildene, Vermont Historic Sites, Shelburne Farms, […]

  • MSJ Yearbooks now online

    From our friends at Rutland Historical Society: MSJ yearbooks (1939-1993 except 1943 which was not published) is online at the Historical Society website.

  • New source for e-books

    OneClick!digital has now added a selection of classic books to its offerings. There are no checkout limits, holds or waits … perfect for class reading lists.

  • OneClick has your audiobook

    Check out an audiobook from OneClick Digital with your library card … no limits or wait times. iPhone app now available, and find a wide assortment of audio classes as well.

  • Try TumbleBooks ebooks for Kids!

    Click on the Kids Space tab to access TumbleBooks! Find animated, talking picture books with fiction, non-fiction and foreign language titles, and Read-Alongs (chapter books with sentence highlighting and narration.)

  • Reader’s Corner

    Reader’s Corner (which you can find in the left-hand menu, and the top menu) features all the resources you need about books in our library. There are links to InterLibrary Loan and a request form for new books and dvds. Check it out today!

Twilight Read Alikes

twi

Don’t be embarrassed if you loved Twilight, you are in good company. Adult or teen if you liked the fast paced, addictive nature of the Twlight series by Stephanie Meyers you will love these books.


shiver

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater
Grace is obsessed with the wolves that roam the woods behind her house. She is drawn to one particular wolf with yellow eyes who seems to be watching her back. Will it be her destiny to join the wolves?

bc

Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
In a small South Carolina town, where it seems little has changed since the Civil War, sixteen-year-old Ethan is powerfully drawn to Lena, a new classmate with whom he shares a psychic connection and whose family hides a dark secret that may be revealed on her sixteenth birthday.

dmb

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor
Seventeen-year-old Karou, a lovely, enigmatic art student in a Prague boarding school, carries a sketchbook of hideous, frightening monsters–the chimaerae who form the only family she has ever known.


suns

Sunshine by Robin McKinley
Sunshine is abducted and used as bait for an unusual vampire, one who chooses not to kill her. Sunshine’s tentative friendship with the vampire, along with her newly discovered magical abilities, prepare for a battle she never could have imagined.



dd

Dead until Dark by Charlaine Harris (Sookie Stackhouse #1)
Sookie Stackhouse is a cocktail waitress in small-town Louisiana, but she keeps to herself and doesn’t date much because of her unwanted ability to read minds. When she meets Bill, Sookie can’t hear a word he’s thinking. He’s the type of guy she’s waited for all of her life, but there is one problem, he’s a vampire with a bad reputation. When one of Sookie’s coworkers is killed, she fears she’s next.



bf

Bloodfever by Karen Marie Moening
Life used to be one big glass of sweet tea for southern belle MacKalya Lane. her sister’s murder in Ireland, before she learned that evil lurks not only in the heart of man, but also in the souls of Fae. Yes, they do exist, and some of them want to destroy both worlds and it is up to MacKayla and her newfound abilities to kick these evil faeries back to where they came from.

peeps

Peeps by Scott Westerfeld
Nineteen-year-old Cal is a hunter. He works for the Night Watch, New York City’s clandestine organization to capture “peeps,” “parasite positive” people infected with an ancient disease that causes vampirism. They’re cannibalistic, violent and wildly strong. But Cal’s life suddenly changes when he realizes he has been infect by the disease.


cob

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
Suddenly able to see demons and the Darkhunters who are dedicated to returning them to their own dimension, fifteen-year-old Clary Fray is drawn into this bizzare world when her mother disappears and Clary herself is almost killed by a monster.