• Tech Tuesday / Thursday, 2-4 PM

    Drop by to get help with your tablet, laptop or other device. Scott is here twice a week to offer hands-on help with your technology questions.

  • Play group at new time, 9:30 AM Fridays

    The library is pleased to be partners with Rutland County Parent Child Center. Together we will host play groups Friday mornings in the Fox Room from 9:30-11 AM. Always free and open to all.

  • Take a pass

    Again this year, the library is happy to offer passes for a variety of attractions as well as the state parks. State park passes are day passes that allow entrance for up to eight people in one vehicle. Other passes we have available include Billings Farm & Museum, ECHO, Hildene, Vermont Historic Sites, Shelburne Farms, […]

  • MSJ Yearbooks now online

    From our friends at Rutland Historical Society: MSJ yearbooks (1939-1993 except 1943 which was not published) is online at the Historical Society website.

  • New source for e-books

    OneClick!digital has now added a selection of classic books to its offerings. There are no checkout limits, holds or waits … perfect for class reading lists.

  • OneClick has your audiobook

    Check out an audiobook from OneClick Digital with your library card … no limits or wait times. iPhone app now available, and find a wide assortment of audio classes as well.

  • Try TumbleBooks ebooks for Kids!

    Click on the Kids Space tab to access TumbleBooks! Find animated, talking picture books with fiction, non-fiction and foreign language titles, and Read-Alongs (chapter books with sentence highlighting and narration.)

  • Reader’s Corner

    Reader’s Corner (which you can find in the left-hand menu, and the top menu) features all the resources you need about books in our library. There are links to InterLibrary Loan and a request form for new books and dvds. Check it out today!

Gone Girl Read Alikes

If you like the psychological suspense of Gone Girl, try one of these thrillers.

Land of the living by Nicci French. When Abbi escapes from a kidnapper, not only does nobody believe her but her life has fallen apart.

 

The neighbor by Lisa Gardner. When a teacher goes missing, family secrets emerge.

 

A reliable wife by Robert Goolrick. A wealthy man advertises for a wife but she isn’t what she appears to be.

The wrong mother by Sophie Hannah. Years after an affair, Sally sees her lover’s wife on the news and discovers he wasn’t who he claimed to be.

Into the Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes. Told in past and present, this is the tale of Catherine, who is caught in an abusive relationship.


In the Lake of the Woods by Tim O’Brien. The wife of a Vietnam veteran turned politician disappears.

The expats by Chris Pavone. In this international spy thriller both husband and wife are hiding secrets.

Still missing by Chevy Stevens. Annie recounts her harrowing experience of being held captive for a year by a rapist and struggles through the aftermath.

 

The breaker by Minette Walters. Mysteries surround a dead woman who washes up on the beach. Is the husband guilty?

Before I go to sleep by S.J. Watson. Christine Lucas awakens every morning with no memory. When she starts keeping a journal, she learns she can’t trust her own husband.

The birthday present by Barbara Vine. When a member of Parliament stages a mock kidnapping of his mistress, things go horribly wrong.