Read Alikes

Not Quite 50 Shades but Close!

Are you on the waiting list for 50 Shades of Grey? Can’t get enough of Christian Grey? Here are some books that you might like!

Sweet Surrender by Maya Bank

Searching for the man who had killed his partner, Dallas cop Gray Montgomery follows a trail of clues that lead to a link between the murderer and Faith, a beautiful stranger, but when he tries to get close to her to uncover the truth, he discovers that his actions have now made Faith a target.

Obsession by Gloria Vanderbilt

New York social maven Priscilla Bingham discovers a hidden cache of letters that reveal her late husband’s affair with a sophisticated dominatrix who has recorded the intimate details of their relationship, a finding with which Priscilla becomes increasingly obsessed.

Bared to You by Sylvia Day

Eva Trammel, plagued by her own insecurities, is drawn into an intense, obssessive relationship with the wealthy and arrogant Gideon Cross.

Kushiel’s Dart by Jacqueline Carey

Phedre no Delaunay is a young woman who was born with a scarlet mote in her left eye. Sold into indentured servitude as a child, her bond is purchased by Anafiel Delaunay, a nobleman with very a special mission…and the first one to recognize who and what she is: one pricked by Kushiel’s Dart, chosen to forever experience pain and pleasure as one.

The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty by A.N. Roquelaure

This retelling of the traditional Sleeping Beauty fairytale explores its undeniable connection to sexual desire. Here the Prince awakens Beauty, not with a kiss, but with sexual initiation. His reward for ending the hundred years of enchantment is Beauty’s complete and total enslavement to him.

The Beauty of Surrender by Eden Bradley

A master of Shibari, the ancient art of erotic restraint, Marina has never hesitated to dominate anyone. Until she meets James, a dark, gorgeous, towering journalist.


John Grisham Read Alikes

If you are looking for other books that will remind you of John Grisham, check out these authors!

David Baldacci
Baldacci writes high energy Suspense Stories featuring corruption and conspiracies. Complex plots place characters in tense situations, which it is important to note, can sometimes lead to more graphic violence than found in Grisham’s writing.

Brad Meltzer
In their novels, both John Grisham and Brad Meltzer portray young, vulnerable lawyers caught in difficult situations, pitted against powerful but corrupt enemies. Fast pacing, provocative storylines, suspense and danger, along with sympathetic characters make Meltzer a good choice for Grisham fans.

John T. Lescroart
Lescroart and John Grisham both write fast-paced, suspenseful legal thrillers that have wide appeal. Their characters are engaging and committed to justice.

Justin Peacock
Both John Grisham and Justin Peacock portray young, vulnerable (even damaged) lawyers caught in difficult situations, pitted against powerful, corrupt enemies. Fast pacing, provocative storylines, and suspense make Peacock a good choice for Grisham fans.

Lisa Scottoline
Lisa Scottoline’s novels share the legal focus, sympathetic characters, fast pacing, and unexpected plot twists found in John Grisham’s work. There’s more humor and sarcasm in Scottoline’s stories, but they offer a similarly suspenseful tone.

Steve Martini
Steve Martini’s cinematic and page-turning Legal Thrillers may appeal to fans of John Grisham. Sympathetic protagonists people the stories – his novels often feature lawyers as underdogs, fighting for justice. Investigation plays an important role, with actual courtroom drama often taking second place.

Scott Turow
Although Scott Turow’s stories are more realistic, and do not move at the same rapid pace as John Grisham’s, readers who enjoy issue-oriented Legal Thrillers may appreciate each author’s different strengths.

Stuart Woods
Known for his provocative stories and relentless pacing, Stuart Woods has much to offer John Grisham fans. While there are suspense, action, and plot twists in his novels, there’s also more sex and violence than one finds in Grisham. Readers who can tolerate this might find Woods a good choice.

Nancy Grace
If you like Grisham, you may also like Grace. Both write fast-paced and suspenseful Legal thrillers and Suspense stories books for adults about Trials (Murder).

James Patterson Author Read Alikes

Here is a list of other authors to check out if you are waiting for the next James Patterson thriller!

Jeffery Deaver
This author writes gripping suspense novels. He, like Patterson, includes clever twisting plot lines, memorable characters, threatening atmospheres, psychological and nightmarish tones. RFL owns most of his books! His latest is called Carte Blanche.

Jonathan Kellerman
Kellerman and Patterson both write gritty suspenseful crime series. They both examine the psychological element in crime and criminal investigations. Vivid characters, fast paced page turners, and full story lines help set the stage for gripping and twisted, sometimes, violent crime novels.

Nicholas Sparks
If you like some of Patterson’s warmhearted stories rather than his crime novels, Sparks is a good fit. They both are great at writing heartwarming love stories.

Ridley Pearson
Patterson and Pearson both feature serial murders, series detective protagonists, bleak outlooks, graphic violence, and psychological implications, though Pearson’s novels are more detailed, complex and offer more insight to what is going on inside the character than Patterson.

Michael Connelly
Connelly’s cunningly-plotted mysteries blend realistic police procedurals with the forlorn heroism of classic hardboiled fiction. Full of shocking twists, climactic build-up, and often violent confrontations, ultimately allows characters to carve meaning out of darkness–if they live.

John Sanderford
Like Patterson, John Sandford writes hard-edged, suspenseful novels of detection. Sandford offers similarly fast-paced, bleak stories, pervaded by a menacing atmosphere. Psychological details are often the key to the case, and the story unfolds with strong language and graphically portrayed violence.

Greg Iles
Greg Iles writes more elegantly than Patterson, but tells equally complex stories of gritty suspense. Plot twists, contemporary settings (although he has also written suspenseful thrillers set in World War II), alternating points of view, and graphic violence feature prominently.

Linda Castillo
Readers who enjoy Patterson’s fast-paced and suspenseful Suspense stories and Mystery stories books for adults about murder investigation; revenge; and serial murderers may also enjoy Castillo.

Girl with the Dragon Tattoo Read Alikes


The Ice Princess by Camilla Läckberg
The dark secrets of a small Swedish community are revealed as a woman returns to her hometown after the death of her parents and the suicide of a childhood friend.


Red Wolf by Liza Marklund
A spate of killings that began with the murder of a Swedish journalist prompts crime reporter Annika Bengtzon to look into the deaths, in an investigation that forces her to question her own husband’s honesty.


The Redbreast by Jo Nesbo
1942: Daniel, a soldier legendary among the Norwegians fighting at the Eastern front, is killed. Eighteen months later in a Vienna hospital, a wounded soldier becomes involved with a young nurse. The consequences will ripple forward to the end of the century. 1999: Having caused an embarrassment in the line of duty, Harry Hole is lumbered with monitoring neo-Nazi activity; a fairly mundane assignment, until reports of a rare weapon being fired attract his interest. Meanwhile, an ex-soldier has been found with his throat cut. Pursuing both his assignment and his hunches, Harry embarks on an investigation in which he has much to gain and everything to lose.


Lucifer’s Tears by James Thompson
Inspector Kari Vaara is pushed into investigating a 90-year-old national hero for war crimes committed during World War II. Finland’s Interior Minister demands a conclusion of innocence, but Germany wants extradition. Vaara is also drawn into a current murder-by-torture case that has the past and present colliding in ways no one could have anticipated.


Don’t Look Back by Karin Fossum
The tranquility of a small, idyllic town is shattered when the body of a teenage girl is found, prompting an investigation by Inspector Sejer that reveals the sinister truth behind the town’s quiet facade.


Sun and shadow : an Erik Winter novel by Åke Edwardson
Enjoying a satisfying family life and career as Sweden’s youngest chief inspector, Erik Winter faces a daunting case involving a double murder and a suspect with possible links to the gothic world and the local police force.


The last fix by Kjell Ola Dahl
After recovering drug addict Katrine Bratterud is found dead on the shore of a serene lake, detectives Fralich and Gunnarstranda delve into the case, which holds a web of secrets and lies that stretches back generations.


Smilla’s Sense of Snow by Peter Høeg
When her six-year-old neighbor falls to his death, and no one is willing to suspect foul play, fiercely strong Smilla Qaavigaaq Jasperson finds her own investigation taking her into the files of a Danish company.

Also by Stieg Larsson:

The Girl Who Played with Fire
Millennium, the magazine Blomkvist publishes, is about to do a story exposing the Swedish sex-trafficking trade when the authors of the story are both murdered, and Salander’s fingerprints are found on the gun. Larsson jumps between Blomkvist’s attempts to investigate the murder (and, he hopes, prove Salander’s innocence) and Salander’s own efforts to tie the killings to her past.

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest
Blomkvist again sets out to prove Salander innocent of murder. To do so he must expose a decades-old conspiracy within the Swedish secret service that has resulted in, among other travesties, a lifetime of abuse for Salander, whose very life threatens to expose the deadly charade. Larsson amps up the suspense and adds great courtroom drama to the trilogy’s stunning conclusion.

About Stieg Larsson – A leading expert on right-wing extremist organizations, Stieg Larsson was the editor-in-chief of an anti-racist magazine called Expo. He died in 2004. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was made into a film in Sweden in 2009, and an American version is set to be released in 2012.